Beyond Compare – Music by David Ross Lyrics by Marshall Barer

Cover of Venice Venice

Words by Marshall Barer
Music by David Collin Ross
Published by BING CLAWSBY
Marshall sang this song in the
a song for HENRY JAGLOM‘s film “Venice/Venice” he also appeared in the film with Ross
In the liner notes of  “The Time Has Come!: The Songs of Marshall Barer ” Marshall wrote about this song  that “[DAVID ROSS] wishes I wouldn’t keep referring to the melody as one which might have been written by Jerome Kern. I can’t think why”

Lyrics

How do I love thee
Let my count the ways
One, two, three, four, five millions
This will take me days
and days
and days

Shall I, my love, compare thee to
Baba au rhum or summer’s day?
Handel chorale or Malibu?
Rubens, Ravel or Mel Torme?
Is there a better metaphor
For how I melt
Beholding you?
Or shall the glow I so adore
Only be felt
Enfolding you?
Racking my brain for fitting praise!
Seeking in vain the perfect phrase!
Poring through piles of poems and plays!
Haunting the aisles at Doubleday’s!
I might convey
The state I’m in
If I could play
The mandolin;
Since I cannot, I’ll just declare
You are beyond compare
And leave it right there.

Who could compose
Your valentine?
Not Billy Rose,
Nor Gertrude Stein.
Only a “Hart” like Larry might
Tell you what burns in mine tonight.

That which of which there’s only one
Simply defines comparison
So I repeat in sweet despair
You’re beyond Compare

Notes
How do I love thee… This is a quote from “How do I love thee? Let me count the ways…” by Elizabeth Barrett Browning (1806-1861)

Shall I, my love, compare thee to
.. another quote. This is, of course, from “Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?” by William Shakespeare

Haunting the aisles at Doubleday’s! The Doubleday Publishing Group is a publishing company. It was founded as Doubleday & McClure Company in 1897 by Frank Nelson Doubleday, who had formed a partnership with magazine publisher Samuel McClure.
Doubleday also owns several bookstores.

Not Billy Rose not Gertrude Stein a funny fact that I’m not sure Marshall was aware of: several musical historians believe that Lorenz Hart, at the beginning of his carrer, worked for Billy Rose as ghost writer and that most of the lyrics written by Rose were actually by Hart.

Sweet despair
this is what in retoric you can call an oxymoron: figure of speech that combines contradictory terms.

3 thoughts on “Beyond Compare – Music by David Ross Lyrics by Marshall Barer

  1. david johnson says:

    for further performances of barer songs try Cynthia Crane ‘the time has come’,cd lookout jazz 0109 and ‘im confused,therefore I am, cd.lookout jazz 0310.

Leave a comment