Dancing on the Ceiling (He Dances on My Ceiling) – Music by Richard Rodgers Lyrics by Lorenz Hart

Jessie Matthews

Jassie Matthews Image via Wikipedia

Music by Richard Rodgers
Lyrics by Lorenz Hart
Written for the show Ever Green 1930, the song was also used in “Evergreen” a film adaptation of the musical.
Introduced by Jessie Matthews
At the time of the show the song was banned from the radio in England and in USA because the censors found the lyrics “Underneath my counterpane/But there’s my love” too risqué: they thought that the lyrics could be read as “masturbation”

Lyrics

The world is lyrical
Because a miracle
Has brought my lover to me
Though she’s some other place, her face I see
At night I creep in bed
And never sleep in bed
But look above in the air
And to my greatest joy, my love is there
She dances overhead
On the ceiling near my bed
In my sight
All through the night
I try to hide in vain
Underneath my counterpane
But there’s my love
up there above
I whisper, “Go away, my lover
It’s not fair”
But I’m so grateful to discover
That she’s still there
I love my ceiling more
Since it is a dancing floor
Just for my love

One thought on “Dancing on the Ceiling (He Dances on My Ceiling) – Music by Richard Rodgers Lyrics by Lorenz Hart

  1. Kelly Hamilton says:

    This little featurette concerning “Dancing On The Ceiling” is utterly charming and I enjoyed it thoroughly. I just saw “Evergreen” on PBS last night, having been a long time fan of this most haunting and unique song. The movie wasn’t so great — I’m really surprised to see that the forgeettable and inane “Over My Shoulder” was considered the bigger hit from the show. I knew Marshall Barer ever so slightly. I don’t think they are in the same class, but I’m happy to know that someone thinks so, and I’m sure he would have been honored.

Leave a Reply

