Thou Swell – Music by Richard Rodgers Lyrics by Hart

Music by Richard Rodgers Lyrics by Hart
From A Connecticut Yankee 1927 the song was also used in the revival of the show in 1943
This funny and witty love song was the first song performed in the first act of the musical but was listed third in the program since the first two songs were performed in the prologue.
Introduce by William Gaxton (Martin) and  Constance Carpenter (The Demoiselle Alisande la Carteloise)
The music of the song is featured in the film “All About Eve” (1950). It is played on the piano at the party when Margo tells her friends to “fasten their seat belts”.

Lyrics

He: Babe, we are well met as in a spell met, I lift my helmet
Sandy, you’re just dandy for just this here lad
You’re such a fistfull, my eyes are mistful
Are you too wistful to care to say you care to say
“Come near, lad.”

You are so graceful, have you wings?
You have a face full of nice things
You have no speaking voice, dear with ev’ry word it sings

Refrain:
Thou swell! Thou witty! Thou sweet! Thou grand!
Wouldst kiss me pretty? Wouldst hold my hand?
Both thine eyes are cute too; what they do to me
Hear me holler I choose a Sweet lollapaloosa in thee
I’d feel so rich in a hut for two
Two rooms and kitchen I’m sure would do
Give me just a plot of not a lot of land
And Thou swell! Thou Witty! Thou Grand!

She:
Thy words are queer, Sir, unto mine ear, Sir
Yet thou’rt a dear, Sir, to me
Thou could’st woo me now could’st though try, Sir
I’d murmur “Swell”, too and like it well too
More thou wilt tell to Sandy, thou art dandy
Now art though my knight
Thine arms are martial; thou hast grace
My cheek is partial to thy face
And if they lips grow weary, mine are resting place

Notes

Since the song was written for the musical version of “A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court” Larry wrote several songs for that show blending archaic english and modern american slang.
thou: Used to indicate the one being addressed, especially in a literary, liturgical, or devotional context. Middle English, from Old English, second person nominative sing
wouldst: Archaic Second person singular past tense of will.
to holler: to cry aloud; shout; yell 1690–1700, Americanism ; var. of holla
lollapalooza: SLANG something or someone very striking or exceptional.
unto: an archaic word for “to”

thou’rt: thou art i.e. you are in archaic informal singular

Leave a Reply

