I’m Just a Country Boy – Music by Fred Brooks Lyrics byMarshall Barer

A.K.A. Country Boy

Music by Fred Brooks
Lyrics byMarshall Barer
Pop song written for Harry Belafonte.

The song was a huge success and was recorded by several artists.
Harry Belafonte -1954
George McCurn – 1963
Sam Cooke – 1964
Jim Ed Brown – 1965
Ronnie Laine – 1974
Don Williams – 1977
Also recorded by: Jimmy Witherspoon; Roger Whittaker; David Ball; John Holt; The Brothers Four; Bobby Vinton.
Julie Felix crecorded this song as “I’m Just a Country Girl” in the LP  Songs from “The Frost Report” Part 2

Lyrics

I ain’t gonna marry in the fall
And I ain’t gonna marry in the spring
For I’m in love with a pretty little girl
Who wears a diamond ring

For…..I’m just a country boy
Money have I none
But I’ve got silver in the stars
And gold in the morning sun
And gold in the morning sun

I’m never gonna kiss those ruby red lips
Of the prettiest girl in town
I’m never gonna ask her if she’d marry me
‘Cause I know she’d turn me down

‘Cause…..I’m just a country boy
Money, money have I none
But I’ve got silver in the stars
And gold in the morning sun
And gold in the morning sun

I Never could afford a store-bought ring
With a sparkling diamond stone
All I could afford was a loving heart
The only one I own

‘Cause…..I’m just a country boy
Money, money have I none
But I’ve got silver, silver in the stars
And gold in the morning sun
And gold in the morning sun

3 thoughts on “I’m Just a Country Boy – Music by Fred Brooks Lyrics byMarshall Barer

  1. Kathy Miner says:

    I have loved this song since hearing it on a Brothers Four album as a kid. I play it on a little wooden flute. Most of the online information makes it look as if Don Williams WROTE it, but he just sang it, right? Can you tell me more about Fred Brooks and Marshall Barer? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

